top of page
  • Writer's picturekoto-art

“MUJOU-Impermanence 無常” Cut Paper Art 切り絵



“MUJOU-Impermanence”


Finally, I finished this cut paper art. I posted this art before but I hadn't finished all the colors at that time. I tried to express about “Impermanence” through this Japanese prostitute lady who is standing outside of the red-light district. I don't agree with most prostitute culture but this is our real history in Japan. This lady is just about to leave this area. She is free. She's got freedom by herself. She is hoping for her peaceful future in front of a beautiful but sad-looking cherry tree. “ life is impermanent.”

When I was young, I used to spend a lot of time with my grandparents. My grandfather was always watching movies, comedy shows, documentaries or listening to music. He introduced me to classic western culture and Japanese culture. That's why I'm interested in many different cultures. He often listened to Japanese comic storytelling called Rakugo. In Rakugo, a solo performer tells classic stories. In Rakugo stories, there are many Geisha, prostitute ladies’ stories which describe Japanese old society, food, culture, customs, lifestyle, and history. That 's why I got inspiration and created this lady’s cut paper art.


“MUJOU- 無常”


やっとこの切り絵が完成しました。完成までが長かったです…。以前は色が入る前の黒い切り絵のみを投稿しました。遊郭の外にたたずむ日本人女性の姿を通じて無常を表現したかったのです。私は遊郭の遊女の歴史についてすべて賛成というわけではありませんが、日本の歴史における事実です。この切り絵の中の女性は、遊郭を旅立とうとしています。彼女は自由の身です。自分自身で勝ち取った自由です。美しくも悲しげな桜の木の前で、平和な未来を夢みています。“この世は無常である。”

わたしは小さい頃、祖父母と一緒に過ごすことが多かったです。祖父はいつも映画、寄席、ドキュメンタリーをみたり、音楽をきいていました。祖父が色々な海外や日本の文化を紹介してくれました。おかげで色々な国の文化に興味をいだきました。祖父はよく落語を好んで聞いていました。落語の中には芸者や遊女を通して、昔の人間社会、食べ物、文化、風習、生活スタイルや歴史を垣間見ることができます。そんなことからインスピレーションをえて、この切り絵を作るにいたりました。
















1 view0 comments
bottom of page